At church on Sunday morning we (me, husband & daughter) sat beside my husband’s parents, who normally go to a different church but that morning came to ours as they were going to look after our daughter that afternoon.  It was lovely to sit there as an extended family unit, sharing in a common experience of church and all that brought. 

And God saw it was good…

After the service ended and our daughter had gone away with Granny & Gaga, we quickly grabbed some lunch stuff from M&S and raced back to the church to munch away during our church’s meeting.  This time we were sat at the back with friends in front and behind, chatting and munching and then joining with the rest of the church to make some big decisions together.  This too was a special time, even as decisions were made that I felt ambivalent about. 

And God saw it was good…

That night, for the first time in, well, some years I was able to go out to our evening service.  It was a baptismal service, and my husband was leading worship.  It was awesome!  As I arrived I met two other friends coming into the church, one of whom like me doesn’t often get out to evening services because of family responsibilities.  Then entering the church we were welcomed by a number of the young people (wearing funky red ‘welcome team’ hoodies) and were able to spend a few minutes catching up with them.  As we all went up to get seated I was struck by the warm atmosphere, the buzz of chat, the smiling faces.  To me it almost felt like a time of reunion, but that could’ve just been me since I’d not been for so long.  As the service opened and the music began to lead us to worship I was overwhelmed.  There was my husband drumming, two really special friends singing, another fab friend playing guitar and singing, everyone losing themselves as they chose to worship God.  Everywhere I looked this was happening, and we joined together to worship and to celebrate the baptism of two guys that night.  As I said, it was awesome.

And God saw it was good…

After a difficult Monday, I was so looking forward to spending Tuesday evening with our two dear friends from Milton Keynes and with our small group.  And what can I say, it was a great evening.  A lot of people were missing from the ‘official’ small group roll call, but those of us who’d been able to make it along with our visiting friends had the evening spread out lavishly in front of us.  I loved every minute, listening, laughing, teasing, chatting, praying.  And of course eating, which is a very important feature of our small group.  We bought a new table and chairs last summer, which was bigger than our last one so we could fit more of our friends around it at once.  We just had one empty space at the table last night.  I missed those who couldn’t make it, but it was a really precious time and, once again, I saw how ‘family’ is a word that can mean so many things.

And God saw it was good…

 

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Philippians 4:8 (New International Version) – courtesy of BibleGateway

